DIY: Need a lampshade? Make your own!

A new lampshade from an old one! How cool is that! My sister gifted me a bamboo floor lamp, a couple of years ago, which found no use in my new home as it was a little too big for everything in here. While I plan to make a settee out of that robust lamp, its shade found use in my new lamp that needed a drum lampshade! Here is the tutorial!

Step 1: Measure and cut. The best part about drum lampshades are, you’ll not really have to stick to a shape. However, you’ll need to see how big you want your drum to be and cut accordingly.

Yeah, that’s me cutting out a rectangle from the hardback plastic that can be folded into a cylinder.

Step 2: Simple/ design/attachment of patterns or fabrics.

I cut out a zigzag pattern from a fabric that was lying around and stuck it.

Step 3: Fold and staple

That’s it. Your lampshade is ready!

Trash to treasures!

Have a happy weekend y’all!

11 thoughts on “DIY: Need a lampshade? Make your own!

    • Janice, this lamp is made of very strong canewood. It is 1 feet tall and 1 feet wide. I will have to show you to make you believe.
      Actually, Settee is a wrong use of word. Extreme excitement made me do that…ignore the confessions of an over excited girl. That’ll be a stool!

      Like

Have something to say? Feel free.

