Window View

After years of staying in a brick and mortar jungle, I finally have a window to wake up to. A cup of tea and the blue hills beyond is what I look forward to every morning: there’s nothing else I’d want to do, there’s nowhere else I’d rather be. Specially when it’s raining!

Back in the hills, my window used to open to a bed of Chrysanthemums, Mt. Kanchendzongha (the third highest mountain in the world) and a glistening river flowing from the Himalayas, snaking it self through the valley until it finally met river Teesta. And while on a sunny day it sparkled like a thousand million suns, on a moonlit night this became the secret stream of molten silver. Sadly, I have no photographs of my own to show you how beautiful and striking it was but this photograph is ditto of what I’m talking about. Meanwhile, I need a bite from my lemon cake.

Life has brought me into this weird situation, where every time I see these hills, I’m equally happy and sad.  Happy because they make me feel at home. Sad because I miss my little room and the extended study that dad built for me with glass windows.

And as I write from my window, the only thing that worries me is that I’m having to see my childhood memories get tarnished and replaced with snapshots of violence. With political outrage, killing, strikes, processions and so much blood, I wonder if I’d ever be able to return again. In fact I guess, the only way to live those memories is to not re-live them anymore.

  Somethings are better left the way they were

~X~

4 thoughts on “Window View

  1. What a bittersweet post. I’m happy that you have a window with a view and love the descriptions of where you grew up. Where was that exactly? I’m sorry about the unrest – it’s happening so many places and that’s one of the things that I love about blogging – it opens our worlds in a safe way. Keep writing. It’s a way for you to deal with it.

    Like

    • I grew up in Darjeeling, a small town cradled in the Himalayas. From where Darjeeling Tea comes from! I’m sure you’ve heard 🙂

      Well, yes. I kept this feeling growing inside me for too long….it was troubling me…I just had to share. Thank god for the blogs and such wonderful friends like you who takes time to stop by and tell you, “carry on”. Thank you so much for your kind words. It really means a lot to me.

      Like

    • Aww, Prico! I miss you too. How are you feeling now? I’m telling you, you must come. I’m inviting you. Spend a weekend. It’s beautiful here, specially with the rains. We can have loads of coffee and of course, wine! We can cook some killer brazilian food, go to the local market, the possibilities are endless.
      So, when shall that be? Come soon! I heard you went to Rishikesh? how was it?

      Like

Have something to say? Feel free.

