Lemon Curd Recipe

Okay! What’s happening to me! I was always more of a DIY person and less of a cook. I’m seeing a swap here and I must say that I’m rather pleased about it. I whipped myself some lemon curd. How does that sound? It’s so summer, isn’t it? And believe me, since then, I’ve been having it with every possible thing: Plain biscuits, bread and just like that out of the jar. Irresistible.

I never had a thing for lemon until recently where I choose everything lemony and fresh- right from my tea, to the flavour of my lemonades to tarts and cakes: you name it and I’ve had it in lemon flavor. It was so hard, tucking this away into the refrigerator. Clearly just didn’t get enough of this tart and sweet and lemony manna. Spoons after spoons followed and yet there was room for some more consolation spoonfuls. I’m smitten by the lime!

Coming back from the never ending love, I got this recipe from a friend, Yadi, from Puerto Rico, who also happens to run a very successful food blog.  It’s called Shop.Cook.Make. I religiously follow her blog and absolutely love her baking skills. It is here, where I saw this recipe.

Here are the Ingredients:

Eggs: 3 Large

Unsalted Butter: 2 tbsp

Sugar: 1/2 cup

Lemon Juice: 1/3 rd cup

Lemon rind: 1 tbsp

Vanilla extract: 2 drops (This is my addition to it)

Procedure

In a double boiler, whisk together eggs, sugar and lemon juice until the sugar has dissolved. Stir constantly until the mixture becomes thick. Note: you’ll have to stir it constantly to prevent it from curdling. It took me 7-8 minutes to reach to the desired consistency. Remove the mixture from heat and quickly add the butter, vanilla and lemon zest. Give it a good mix and let it cool. Refrigerate and eat as you like.  You can store it up to a week, unless you are someone like me who happily licks it clean; too greedy to let it last.

~X~

6 thoughts on “Lemon Curd Recipe

  1. Hey! a very nice post and it sure looks delicious!

    I have two questions though..

    1: The sugar you used is powdered sugar or the conventional cubes/crystallised one.

    2: Lemon rind is not my personal favourite, so can I use any other alternative? or the stuff is going to be good even without lemond rind?

    Like

    • Hey Shri, Okay… before thanking and all that, lets come to your questions and a thought.

      1. The sugar I used is granulated, plain sugar. You need to whick the egg, lemon and the sugar crystals in a double boiler, till the crystals dissolve and then 5-6 minutes after that 🙂

      2. The stuff is going to be good even without lemon rind. I added because I like them.

      The thought:

      1. Do you think we can make it with strawberries? Pulp? Why not !!

      Like

      • Ahh yes as far as the pics go, teamed with your opinion I guess it is best to have it without lemon rind or anything else. Good stuff indeed!

        Like

Have something to say? Feel free.

