Vanilla & Orange Zest Cake with Rum-n-Orange Glaze

This cake’s been on my mind for some time now. An aromatic and dreamy cake, with a splash of vanilla and hints of tangy citrus freshness, this cake is a perfect breakthrough from the usual cakey affair. A full textured warm vanilla cake with soft and fragrant hints of orange and glazed with rum, orange juice and orange pulp, this cake actually does take the cake!

It was the night before my birthday and I was very kicked about making this cake. Since R is out of Town, I didn’t expect my birthday to unfurl surprises. Thought I’d make a cake and take this to my two little niece and nephew and celebrate my birthday with the two of them.

Well, the cake was made. The glaze was poured. It smelt wonderful. And before I could appreciate its beauty further, at the strike of 12, with the advent of my friends, (SURPISE!!!), it never saw the light of the day. A compliment in itself that is though, I would have loved to take few more photographs of it in the day light.

R is away on a business trip but he called me at 11:45 sharp, saying that, he called me 15 minutes prior to 12 as he can’t take the chance of being the second or third one to wish. What if my phone’s already busy at 12! He wanted to be the first one to wish me. And so he was.

This is our thing. We have to be first in wishing each other on each other’s birthday. This is totally our thing. And by far R has always been the first one to wish me. The boy in him is amazing, “Am I the first one to wish you?” I say, ‘yes’. He says, “Amazing. Good I called you early. I couldn’t take the chance”. This is what makes him so special. He is somewhere still a boy.

 

Anyway, here’s the drill

Ingredients for the Vanilla Cake

1 cup white sugar

½ cup butter

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 tbsp orange juice

1 teaspoon of grated orange zest

1½ cup all-purpose flour

1 ¾ teaspoons baking powder

½ cup milk

 

Directions


1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Okay, now ideally, it might call for creaming the butter and all. But for this, and for me, everything goes in the blender except the zest. Mix everything else and pour in a bowl. Now slowly add the zest and pour in to a baking pan.

3. Grease a 9” baking pan, (go on, use the shape you want) and bake for 30 – 35 minutes or until the skewer comes out clean.

 

For the Glaze

2 tbsp of dark rum

A handful of orange pulp

4 tbsp of sugar

½ cup orange juice

2 tbsp butter

 

Directions:

In a flat, heavy bottomed pan boil everything till it reaches a sticky consistency. Let it cool for some time and pour it on top of your cake.

 

Try it! It’s totally worth it.

 

One thought on “Vanilla & Orange Zest Cake with Rum-n-Orange Glaze

Have something to say? Feel free.

