Chicken Korma


When I was a kid, my favorite bed time story was how, during the troubled times of partition of Bengal, my granny surprised the house by cooking an excellent curry made of only egg-plants and potatoes and how despite of the severe Hindu-Muslim riots, my granny’s best-friend were the Muslim family who lived next door. In fact, till the time she could cook and delight us, in every occasion she owed her gratitude towards the Muslim family for her delicious biryani. She was a great cook and so is my mother and my late uncle.

And though I don’t cherish the memory of having Chicken Korma made by my grand-mother, I’m sure that I reflect her ways in my cooking, just like my mom does. I owe this to my grandmother, Mrs. Basanti Mukherjee and Mrs. Rita Ray, my mother, for this wonderful strain of cooking genes that I inherited. This turned out to be marvelous and this is my version.

All it took:

2 chicken thighs

2 bay-leaf, 1inch cinnamon

2 tbsp of ginger-garlic paste

½ tea-spoon of turmeric powder paste

1 tbsp of red chili or paprika powder paste

1 large onion-finely chopped

4 tbsp of yogurt

1 tea-spoon of sugar

2tbsp of oil, ½ tbsp of oil

Salt to taste

All that went in the pan:

In a shallow pan, put 2tbsp of oil and fry the onions till translucent. Add the chicken and fry for a minute or two. Now, add all the paste, with ginger-garlic first. Keep stirring. Add the salt. Slow cook for 5 minutes under low flame with covered lid. This helps in getting the chicken cooked faster and you also save cooking gas. After 5 minutes (at this point, the spices should be cooked along with the chicken) add some water and let it cook for another 5-10 minutes. Add the yogurt and cook for another 5-10 minutes. You can add water according to the desired gravy.

In another pan, in ½ tbsp of oil crackle 2 bayleaf and 1inch cinnamon. Pour it on the chicken gravy and cook for a minute and half.

Delicious Chicken Korma is ready in 35 minutes. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Korma

Have something to say? Feel free.

